Who we are - about the OHRN

The Ōpāwaho Heathcote River Network (OHRN) is a collaborative group that was formed in June 2015, and became an Incorporated Society in November 2017 and a Charitable Trust in 2018.

Our Vision: An ecologically healthy river that people take pride in, care for, and enjoy.

Purpose: Facilitating a collaborative network which promotes and advocates for the regeneration of the whole of the Ōpāwaho Heathcote River. We are a community group committed to working to restore the ecological health of the Ōpāwaho Heathcote River and its catchment.

Our collaborative approach means that we work with the ‘planners’ (from Christchurch City Council and Environment Canterbury) on river issues, and the ‘doers’ - the community groups, schools and others that work along the river. We are also involved in catchment-wide river activities such as the annual Mother of all Clean-ups in May, World Rivers Day, Estuary Fest and other events.

oreo ohrn.png

We are always looking for people with a range of skills to continue the growth and development of the Ōpāwaho Heathcote River Network. Come along to one of our committee meetings, held every 4th Saturday of the month at the South Library Board Room at 9:30am or send us an email at opawahoheathcote@gmail.com


Commitee Members

The current (2020/2021) committee members are:

  • Annabelle Hasselman (Chair)
  • Stacey Young (Secretary)
  • Kay Robertson(Treasurer)
  • Rachel Barker
  • Sue Bye (Lower Cashmere Residents Association)
  • Alisdair Hutchison
  • Alice Shanks (Friends of the Ernle Clark Reserve)
  • Kathryn Bates
  • Genevieve Long (Farnley Reserve)
  • Vicky Southworth 
  • Colin Meurk 
  • Daniel Collins